SKCWA Skills Progression

The Club uses the Paddle Australia award system  to progress a paddler through an increasing skill level. The level of demonstrated skill and theory required to achieve these awards are detailed in the  links below.

As a new joining member, you will be required to attend a club induction of 3 hours duration and demonstrate that you can meet the requirements of the Basic Skills award before being able to paddle with the club. The inductions are offered monthly. It is the responsibility of a new member to attend an induction. You will not be able to paddle with the club until it is successfully completed,

The club runs a continuous training program, based around the clubs method of delivery, the  Sea Award Pathway. The program encourages members to voluntarily gain awards so that they can feel confident and have the necessary skill to paddle at three SKCWA levels. These levels are: All Paddlers (AP), Introduction to Sea Skills (ISSA) and Sea Skills (SSA).

The Paddle Australia Award system as it applies to the SKCWA and the progression of skills is listed below.



Club Induction(Basic Skills)

Introduction to Sea Skills Award  (ISSA)

Sea Skills Award  (SSA)

Enclosed Sea Instructor

Sea Instructor